The Academy has six departments, each with several elective subjects:

  • Department of Art Education
  • Department of Painting
  • Department of Sculpting
  • Department of Printmaking
  • Department of Graphic Design
  • Department of Product Design

Each of these departments prepares students for a specific artistic activity, in the manner that meets the criteria of education in arts. In the academic year 2006/2007, the Academy of Fine Arts of the University of Sarajevo began applying the Bologna 4+1 System of Education (a four-year under-graduate/Bachelor study, and one-year graduate/Master study).